Permissions

CodeGrade works with an extensive permission system to allow different types of users (roles) to access and manage things on the site.

The permissions are divided into site-wide permissions and course permissions. Site-wide permissions are administered by the site administrators and apply to all courses. Course permissions only apply to one course and CodeGrade users can have different roles and permissions for different courses.

Site Permissions

General site permissions can be accessed by the button, which is only visible to site administrators. Four roles are provided for site permissions: admin, staff, student and nobody (no role).

The available global permissions can be found in the table below.

Global permissions

Name

Description

Add users

Users with this permission can add other users to the website.

Snippets *

Users with this permission can use the snippets feature on the website.

Edit user info *

Users with this permission can edit their own personal information.

Edit password *

Users with this permission can edit their own password.

Create course

Users with this permission can create new courses.

Manage site users

Users with this permission can change the global permissions for other users on the site.

Search users *

Users with this permission can search for users on the side, this means they can see all other users on the site.

Impersonate users

Users with this permission can impersonate users, i.e. they can login as other users.

Course Permissions

Permissions and roles can be specified per course, this can be done in course management under the roles tab. The five default roles are: designer, observer, student, TA (teaching assistant) and teacher. Default roles can be removed, their permissions can be altered and new roles can be added to the course.

The available course permissions can be found in the table below.

Note

Roles can only be removed if no current users act in that role in the course.

Example: allow late submissions by creating a new role

To temporarily allow late submissions by some students, you can create a Late Student role with the permission “Upload after deadline”. Now if you want to allow late submissions by a student, you can change the role of this student to Late Student.

Course permissions

Name

Description

Submit others work

Users with this permission can submit work to an assignment for other users. This means they can submit work that will have another user as the author.

Submit own work *

Users with this permission can submit their work to assignments of this course. Usually only students have this permission.

Edit others work

Users with this permission can edit files in the submissions of this course. Usually TAs and teachers have this permission, so they can change files in the CodeGra.de filesystem if code doesn’t compile, for example.

Grade submission

Users with this permission can grade submissions.

See grade before done

Users with this permission can see the grade for a submission before an assignment is set to “done”.

See others submission

Users with this permission can see submissions of other users of this course.

See assignments *

Users with this permission can view the assignments of this course.

See hidden assignments

Users with this permission can view assignments of this course that are set to “hidden”.

Linter

Users with this permission can run linters on all submissions of an assignment.

Edit assignment info

Users with this permission can update the assignment info such as name, deadline and status.

Assign graders

Users with this permission can assign a grader to submissions of assignments.

Edit .cgignore

Users with this permission can edit the .cgignore file for an assignment.

Upload BlackBoard zip

Users with this permission can upload a zip file with submissions in the BlackBoard format.

Edit course roles

Users with this permission can assign or remove permissions from course roles and add new course roles.

Edit course users

Users with this permission can add users to this course and assign roles to those users.

Create assignment

Users with this permission can create new assignments for this course.

Upload after deadline

Users with this permission can submit their work after the deadline of an assignment.

See assignee

Users with this permission can see who is assigned to assess a submission.

Manage rubrics

Users with this permission can update the rubrics for the assignments of this course.

View teacher revision *

Users with this permission can view the teacher’s revision of their submitted work.

Grade history

Users with this permission can see the grade history of an assignment.

Delete submission

Users with this permission can delete submissions.

Update grader status

Users with this permission can change the status of graders for this course, whether they are done grading their assigned submissions or not.

Update course notifications

Users with this permission can change the all notifications that are configured for this course. This includes when to send them and who to send them to.

Edit the maximum grade possible

Users with this permission can edit the maximum grade possible, and therefore also determine if getting a ‘bonus’ for an assignment is also possible.

View plagiarism

Users with this permission can view the summary of a plagiarism check and see details of a plagiarism case. To view a plagiarism case between this and another course, the user must also have either this permission, or both “See assignments” and “See other’s work” in the other course.

Manage plagiarism

Users with this permission can add and delete plagiarism runs.

List course users *

Users with this permission can see all users of this course including the name of their role.

Edit own groups *

Users with this permission can edit groups they are in. This means they can join groups, add users to groups they are in and change the name of groups they are in. They cannot remove users from groups they are in, except for themselves.

Edit others groups

Users with this permission can edit groups they are not in, they can add users, remove users and rename all groups. Users with this permission can also edit groups they are in.

Edit groups after first submission

Users with this permission can edit groups which handed in a submission. Users with this permission cannot automatically edit groups, they also need either “Edit own groups” or “Edit others groups”.

View others groups *

Users with this permission can view groups they are not in, and the members of these groups.

Edit group assignment

Users with this permission can change an assignment into a group assignment, and change the minimum and maximum required group size.

Edit group set

Users with this permissions can create, delete and edit group sets.

Create groups *

Users with this permission can create new groups in group assignments.

View course snippets

Users with this permission can see the snippets of this course, and use them while writing feedback.

Manage course snippets

Users with this permission can create, edit, and delete snippets for this course.

View hidden AutoTest fixtures

Users with this permission can view hidden autotest fixtures.

Run an AutoTest configuration

Users with this permission can start AutoTest runs

Delete an AutoTest run

Users with this permission can delete AutoTest runs

Edit the configuration of an AutoTest

Users with this permission can create, delete, edit the fixtures of, setup scripts of, and test sets of an AutoTest

View the details of hidden AutoTest steps

Users with this permission can view hidden AutoTest steps if they have the permission to view the summary of this step

View AutoTest details before done

Users with this permission can view AutoTest, such as sets, before the state of the assignment is “Open”

View the details of AutoTest steps *

Users with this permission are allowed to see the details of non hidden AutoTest steps

View non hidden AutoTest fixtures *

Users with this permission are allowed to see non hidden AutoTest fixtures

View AutoTest output files before done

Users with this permission can view output files created during an AutoTest before the assignment state is “done”

Delete assignments

Users with this permission can delete assignments within this course.

Override submission limiting

Users with this permission can create new submissions, even if the maximum amount of submissions has been reacher, or if a cool-off period is in effect.

See linter feedback before done

Users with this permission can see the output of linters before an assignment is set to “done”

See feedback before done

Users with this permission can see feedback before an assignment is set to “done”

Note

Permissions indicated with * are added by default for new roles.